I saw this thing on youtube – aka an instructors worst nightmare

With the fabulousness of pole hitting mainstream with appearances on programs like Britains got talent (thank you Emma Haslem, Terri Fierce and Lisette Krol) and Got to dance (thank you Bendy Kate and Justine McLucas) means I get many enquiries about classes after these programs are seen.  Whoop it’s ace!

The difficulty is when these students come to class is they want to do the same moves they’ve seen on TV instantly. *sigh*

If I was just in this game for the money (HA!) I’d teach everyone the moves they want to know straight away regardless and just get them into the moves whichever way we could.  BUT I am not in it for the money (thankfully) I do this activity because I love it!

While I do take individual abilities into consideration most people will not start inverting for at least 6-8 weeks.  This is fast compared to some and it would seem slow compared to others.  My criteria for allowing inverts to start are:

  • Being able to do basic spins competently both sides
  • Hold the conditioning moves competently
  • Be working on Cross knee release with NO HAND on the ankle
  • With me spotting be able to lift (NOT KICK) intobasic crucifix.

I’ve had too many students who think that by kicking up they are going to get moves quicker…

No you are not

You are going to end up with

  • Strained shoulders
  • sore back
  • Possibly bruised/cracked ribs

It’s just not worth it.

I will never deliberately hold anyone back and I definitely know that I have students who have gotten moves much quicker (damn you men!) but I do constantly assess you and see how your strength is building.

When you buy a pole for home I get worried that you will start trawling youtube for extra moves I haven’t yet shown you it happens then you come see me saying “I saw this on youtube” and my heart sinks! For every good video there are scores of bad ones……please please please learn new stuff in the studio and practise them at home……

Ahhhhh well back to training…..

 

 

Leave a Reply

